St.Patrick's N.S. Curtlestown

Go to content

Main menu:

Report of the B.O.M. 2016/17

School Community

St. Patrick's N.S.
Board of Management - Annual Report 2017/18

Board of Management 2017/18
Chairperson - Margaret O'Grady
Treasurer - Don Clarke
Secretary - Mary Conroy
Patron Rep - Alan Gilsenan
Teacher Rep - Rosie Ambrose
Parent Reps - Rebecca Candon
Don Clarke
Community Reps - Hilda Burton
Brian Cleary

Policy Development

During this year the B.O.M. have developed and reviewed the following policies;
School Attendance (New), Critical Incident (New), Health and Safety (Review),
Child Protection (Review)
We wish to thank all the members of the school community who took part in this work.

School Ethos

The Sacrament of Reconciliation took place on *th February and First Holy Communion on the 20th May. Pupils in 5th and 6th class were confirmed by Archbishop Diarmuid Martin in March. The Board wish to thank all parents who helped out on these occasions with catering, decorating etc.

The Board wish to congratulate the following students for their achievements during the past academic year;
All students, for their work towards achieving the Primary Science Award for for Excellence in Science, Maths and Engineering.
We had a good representation among the local Schools Community Games Art winners; Nisha Pandy, Isabella Di Biasi, Flynn Smith, Daire King William O'Reilly, Milly Fisher Niamh Blackbyrne, Anabel Hassett, Cian Kocikowski, and Gaaabrrrielle Brack.
Florence Manning, Kieran Hayes, Danny O'Shea, Isia Gornik, Katelyn Byrne, Patrick Kenny, Rachel Clarke and Clíodhna Coleman who were this year's Write a Book winners.
Toby Bradley; who won Bronze in the over U8 50 M at the North Wicklow Cumann na mBunscoil Track and Field event.
The Senior class took part in the National Children's Choir under the tutelage of Miss Ambrose.

A series of school assemblies were introduced this year to showcase work done by the children and discuss items at whole school level

Training/ /Building/ Maintenance

Teaching staff attended training for the new Primary Languages curriculum, Mathematical thinking in Numeracy, Teaching Coding and updated First Aid training.
The external walls were painted during the summer of 2016.
The Board wishes to thank all the members of the parent body who volunteered in May to paint the school and tidy up around the school around the school.
A thank you is also due to Paddy King and Justin Smith for their work cutting back hedging and trees in the grounds

Parents' Association

The Board wishes to thank the Parents' Association for their tireless work this school year. This year's committee were Anna Browne Sorcha Diamond, Monica McNeilage, Kathleen Manning, Paddy King and Alan Quinn and Board of Management reps Rebecca Candon and Don Clarke. The P.A. organised weekly management of the school library, Santa's visit and the Book Fair. Fund-raising included running successful events such as the Dinner dance, the musical evening by Caterina Lemoni, Moya O'Grady and David O'Doherty and the Clothes Sale. A special thanks Rebecca Candon who liaised with our fundraising partner Castaways in Bray.

We would especially like to thank Adam Gornik for teaching chess to all students from 1st class upwards and running the afterschool chess club on a voluntary basis.

Voluntary contribution; In an effort to alleviate the constant pressure to fundraise, the Board has focussed on a voluntary Contribution this year. Thank you to all who have supported the school in this way.

Curricular Development

All classes took part in Science experiments, Engineering workshops as part of the application for the S.T.E.M. Award. Classes from 1st to 6th took part in Scratch coding, Fighting words writing workshops, class blogs and ran a Science Fair.
All classes took part in the Write a Book Project and Seachtain na Gaeilge activities. 6th class visited the Gaeltacht and we had visits from an energy engineer, the Community guards and Bray Fire Service.
The new Primary Language Curriculum will be implemented in Junior Infants to Second class in the academic year 2017/18.


The Board would like to thank all staff for their hard work and contribution to the school during the year.
The Board wishes to thank Berna Daly, Ann Marie Burke and Catherine O'Toole Byrne for their work in the school this year. The new S.E.N. arrangement will provide us with one full time post from Sept 2017, so unfortunately we will lose these valued part-time members of our staff.
As the job sharing arrangement between Declan Curry and Emma King will discontinue at the end of this year, the Board would like to acknowledge the huge contribution Emma has made to the school during her 4 years in the school.

Home page | Welcome page | Curriculum | Contact details | Calendar | School Community | Parent Information | Classes | School projects | Policies | Archive | Photo gallery 2013-14 | Admin | Site Map

Back to content | Back to main menu